About The Green Mountain Byway

The Green Mountain Byway is a Scenic Byway designated by the State of Vermont. An extension of the Green Mountain Byway was approved by the State of Vermont in the fall of 2018. This 71 mile corridor includes the entirety of Waterbury, Stowe, Morristown, Hyde Park, Johnson, and Cambridge. The expanded Green Mountain Byway represents a significant resource management, cultural heritage, and economic development initiative for this area of Vermont. The Green Mountain Byway now extends the central byway of Route 100 in Waterbury, through Stowe, to Morristown and Hyde Park, and adds Route 15A in Morristown, Route 100C in Hyde Park and Johnson, Route 15 in Morristown, Hyde Park, Johnson, and Cambridge, and Route 108 in Cambridge and Stowe, which includes the separately designated Smugglers’ Notch Scenic Highway.


The Vermont Byways Program defines a byway as:

a highway or other public road that may be associated with other transportation resources that have special scenic, historic, recreational, cultural, archaeological and/or natural qualities, and that has been formally designated by the Vermont Transportation Board. A Vermont Byway can be designated and managed with a focus on any or all of these six qualities. A wide range of road types are included: village streets, country lanes, gravel roads in the Green Mountain National Forest, State roads, and Interstate Highways.
For more information about the Vermont Byways Program, click here.

The Green Mountain Byway links historic villages, lush river valleys, working landscapes, popular parks and recreational opportunities. The highways have long been recognized as a scenic corridor that attracts visitors from all over the world. An extraordinary range of cultural, historic, recreational, natural and scenic resources can be found along the route. The Byway showcases some of the most outstanding scenic landscapes and open spaces in the State of Vermont. Fall colors are spectacular and vie with the spring, summer and winter seasons in their attraction to visitors and residents alike.

The more densely settled areas along the Byway are bustling village centers with a rich cultural history. These historic villages include Waterbury Village, Colbyville, Waterbury Center, Moscow, Stowe Village and Lower Village, Morrisville, Hyde Park, Johnson, Jeffersonville, and Cambridge. All of these population centers are included on the Vermont State Historic Register for their significance to architecture and the building trades, the history of transportation and recreation, and for people and events important to the state’s history.

The six Byway towns maintain a vibrant cultural identity rooted in the tradition of rural Vermont and possess an eclectic blend of cultures as expressed through diverse local arts, food and craft products, festivals, and other activities. The common cultural themes are the traditional sense of place plus a contemporary cultural atmosphere.

Byway Steering Committee
The Green Mountain Byway Steering Committee is the coordinating body for the Byway to undertake and support projects that balance the promotion, preservation, enjoyment, and stewardship of its intrinsic resources.

The Steering Committee is comprised of members from all facets of the Byway community and meets monthly. The formal committee includes representation from:

Corridor Management Plan
The 2018 Green Mountain Byway Corridor Management Plan and Appendices, addresses Vermont Byway criteria and serves as a framework for the various stakeholders involved to reach consensus on strategies to enhance the Byway and maintain its intrinsic values. See also the formal expansion order.

*Please note:
All content on this site is property of the Green Mountain Byway Steering Committee or authorized for the Committee’s use. Photos on this site are not to be used without written permission of the Green Mountain Byway Steering Committee.

Contact The Green Mountain Byway Steering Committee

Please note we are a volunteer board and a response may take several days.


13 + 9 =